Solstice Shenanigans

What a interesting start to winter here in the northeast! The temperature is in the mid fifties before noon on the first full day of winter and I have to tell you, things are a little crazy with this unusual weather.

I honestly wouldn’t be surprised to find a few upright citizens acting like this, given what I have encountered…

Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 10.23.42 AM.png

Unexpected warm temperatures invoke delerious celebration!

Now, from this point on, you will have to suspend your scepticsm and try to believe that what I relay to you is the truth. The only reason I can think of to explain the incredible events that I am going to recount is the unusually warm weather in a region when most inhabitants are ready to hunker down, pile on 10 pounds and hibernate until the bikini edition of fashion and sports magazines hit the stands.

I have the day off and I was straightening up for the house for Christmas Eve. Everything looks decorated.

img_7169

Mantle is ready for the season.

When I noticed something a little different…

img_7170

This is new.

So I took a closer look.

img_6886

Holy moly! It’s a caravan of naked people among my Christmas crap!

What? What! WHAT?! It’s a naked invasion! Among the Christmas decorations…oh the humanity!

I wasted no time, drastic measures were call for. And I had no choice but to bring in the Army.

img_7172

Captain Plastic! Help me mobilize the naked caravan!

Plastic army to the rescue. Mission Naked Caravan Relocation. Send them back to Whale Rock, the nude beach at Lake Tahoe (lovely spot but lots of naked people).

Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 10.42.58 AM

Sunbathers at Whale Rock, Lake Tahoe

The plastic army men are always up for a mission.

img_7173

Troops are mobilized! Back to Lake Tahoe’s East Shore!

img_7175

And off they go with their usual enthusiasm. I can always count on the green plastic army men.

Feeling as though the situation was now under control and the Christmas mantle could regain a G rating stays, I started making a cup of herbal tea…my nerves were utterly shattered.

When I noticed some rather interesting maneuver formantion of the part of the green plastic army.

img_7177

Erm, Captain? Sargent? Is this a new formation?

img_7179

Front line infantry…why are you on your head?

img_7178

Do my eyes deceive me, or are you soldiers doing…Yoga?

img_7181

No! Now is not the time of a resting pose! Get those naked caravan interlopers back to Tahoe!

img_7182

Your poses are perfect, but this does not remedy the situation, soldiers!

Then the miracle of the season dawned upon me. Peace on Earth, good will to all. Even to the Naked Caravan on the mantle.

 

img_7167-1

Happy Christmas, Naked Caravan People, enjoy the mantle.

About EF Sweetman

bees, baseball, beverly, ma, culture, manners, society, writing
This entry was posted in blogging, cautionary tales, Celebrations, christmas, humor, Observations, Obsessions, photography, politically incorrect, society, winter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

