And how is your summer going so far?

Well hello! Yes, I know it’s been a while! How’s it going? Everything good? Having a nice summer? Oh, I know, it’s been beautiful, almost makes you forget about the economy, right? I mean you can’t buy a day like today!
What’s new? Well I just got back from getting my first rabies shot…. Yes, that’s correct, I said, I just got back from getting my first rabies shot
Oh all right, I’ll start from the beginning.

It’s been a fun summer, a little vacation, lots of warm sunny days. The boys are all great–although scattered in far-flung corners of the planet, the Red Sox are in first place for the moment, and the two bad dogs are living life-like they own it. You’d think this is the typical dream summer for me, and it really has been, except for a few non-typical things.

Like…I got Poison Ivy for the first time in about 30 years in June. That’s a big deal because I was the kid who blew up and became an unrecognizable pink blob of ooze if I breathed the air that circulated around the vine. I can spot that shiny three-leafed devil a mile away. Or I thought I could until I woke one morning with my arms and one eye covered with the dreaded rash. No worries, thanks to the miracles of modern medicine better known as prednisone. One quick visit to my doctor and I found myself on the fast track of healing. Plus I got prednisone mania! Wow, you wouldn’t believe what I did while I was on steroids but I’ll save it for another entry.

About two weeks after finishing the prednisone I went deaf in my right ear. No, that’s not true, I could hear on the inside of my right ear but was stone deaf to anything outside of my head. Believe me, I looked up side effects and long-term steroid damage the second I realized I couldn’t hear because I would have suffered many additional days of fiery, itching torture to keep my hearing! Fortunately there’s no correlation between hearing loss and steroid use so I decided to tough it out with CVS brand swimmers ear drops and a Debrox ear wax removal kit with absolutely no luck.
After a week of “What? Huh?” and “I have NO idea what you just said.“, I called the doctor for a second visit in a month.
Actually it was my co-workers teasing that a bug must have crawled into my ear and died that prompted me to make the appointment.
What is it about fellow nurses that make them scream, “There’s a dead bug in your ear!” when you can’t hear?
The very thought freaked me out.
After laughing with my doctor about how I only see her for my yearly physical, this is exactly what I said as she looked in my ear,
“My co-workers are teasing me that I have a dead bug in my ear which is freaking me out. Honestly. Don’t tell me if there’s a bug in me ear because if you say that you will have to peel me off the ceiling after that.”
“Mmmummble-mmumble-mumble-mumble.”
“What?”
“Elizabeth! Don’t Worry! It looks like you have an EAR INFECTION!!”
Huge relief. In fact I was so relieved that I kept my promise to stay out of the ocean for two days for a full hour. The waves were perfect that afternoon.

My latest visit to the place where I now know everyone by name and they know me as that weird woman who has bad luck in the summer was yesterday. I came in because I was awakened early Tuesday morning (2:30 to be exact) to two bats flying around my bedroom.
Two flying rodents buzzing around my room and my head.
Excuse me while I run around and scream for a few minutes–I’ve been doing that a lot lately.
Anyway, evidently if you wake up to a bat or two flying around your bedroom, you have to get rabies shots because it’s considered a high risk exposure.
For those of you who know me, you might recall that I had a bat experience last summer while alone in the house with the terriers. It was a good story because I got the bat out with the help of the really bad dog. The difference between then and now is that last summer I was awake when the bat made its appearance. This time I was sound asleep when visited upon by these unholy terrors that I’m not supposed to hate because they’re becoming endangered but I am supposed to dread because 70% of all bats carry rabies.
Needless to say I have mixed emotions about bats and a great desire for them to stay the hell out of my house. Especially when I’m sleeping.
So! I just got back from my first rabies shot and will have 4 more in three weeks. I’d write more about it but my arm is sore.

About EF Sweetman

bees, baseball, beverly, ma, culture, manners, society, writing
This entry was posted in 1, blogging, Blogroll, cautionary tales, essay, family, humor, Observations, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to And how is your summer going so far?

  1. sweetman says:

    Unbelievable! I wrote about the bat invasion exactly 1 year ago today!!

  2. chlost says:

    Wow! What a summer! My husband’s comment for such things is “At least it will be memorable.” I think your summer will be quite memorable.
    Glad you are back, no matter what shape you are in now.

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Hey! I think I remember you!…….. Tall gal….into monster trucks…heavily tattoed…. hard talker…… is that you? 🙂 Welcome back! Thought you had vanished into the Gloucester Triangle up there! 🙂

    • sweetman says:

      Ha, ha! That’s close, I know it’s been a while and I know where to hide if I ever end up on the FBI’s most wanted list Maaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhk! Thanks 🙂

  4. That’s one hell of a summer, missy! Last week we had an earthquake on Tuesday, a hurricane on Sunday and 48 hrs (only) of power outage, making my 6th floor apartment a walk-up carrying an ice chest full of cubes to try and save our food. Such fun!

    Prednisone is insane. Insane! I went back to my local pharmacist and told him I was having anxiety attacks…apparently quite “normal” on that vicious drug. I’ve added it to the “never again” list with Percocet.

  5. Pingback: Mini bus hire in Mumbles Head : Coach Hire in Mumbles Head

Leave a Reply

