Happy New Year! L Street Brownie Style

Wow, that's a lot of pale skin!


Happy New Year!
1-1-11 was warm and sunny. What better way to begin the new year than a dive into the Atlantic with over a thousand of my like-minded friends?
Some went from the party to the beach before stumbling and weaving home to sleep off one epic New Year’s Eve party while others showed up looking refreshed, ready and down right cheerful about the prospect of diving into the forty degree ocean water on the first of January.
We were of the latter group but met up with a couple of party boys. The young man in the white bathrobe saw me with the camera and wanted a photo with his buddy who was lagging behind (booze was wearing off, hang-over was kicking in, I’d wager) so he screamed “Hey James! James!! JAMES! JAMES! JAAAAAAAAAAMES! Get over here for the picture JAMES!” When James finally arrived for his photo op, I said, “Smile James!” causing the wonder of his life: How do they know my name is JAMES? which I luckily captured for posterity:

Dan, His Buddy and "How-do-you-know-my-name?James"


It was an epic crowd, the largest we’ve ever experienced–but we’re fairly new to this tradition; it’s only our 3rd year.

Line for the 2011 plunge


Despite the crush to get through the facility to get into the ocean, everyone was friendly and excited. The mad rush into the frigid water takes place at 10 a.m. The procession is led by the traditional bagpipes (who don’t dive in).

The bagpipe procession that leads the swimmers into the ocean in style


It’s a crazy way to start the New Year but taking part in this plunge with all these people has been the best way to start a new year.

Santa takes the plunge


Taking off clothes outdoors on balmy winter is still taking off your clothes outdoors in winter


I dove in the COLD water once and once was enough. Here’s the truth: your feet don’t get numb and you don’t get used to it–it’s a painful process and the best way to get it over is to make it quick. But don’t tell these guys. Apparently they’ve got no problem with hanging around in 40 degree ocean water.

"Hey Pete, I could stay here all day!"


Mr. B took a second dip–did his thought process malfunction? Did he forget he already went in? No, it was a dive for our friend Nicole who had the nerve to move away from the best coast and couldn’t make it for the third year.

Beloved Mr. B gets ready for a second plunge


Police boat keeps watch while maniac fling self into ocean 1-1-11


The dash out is usually a bit faster than the dash in


Here’s the proof and the last time you’ll see me in the water until June.

The Truth: I dive into the ocean on New Year's so I can be surrounded by men in bathing suits


It really was a lovely day. Our youngest son has been such a trooper; he’s accompanied his crazy parents for three years running–and seen soooo many fascinating sights for such young eyes.

My guys after the ordeal


Of course it’s all worth it when it’s over and if you get a post swim breakfast at Depot Diner.
Happy New Year everyone.

Post swim breakfast

About EF Sweetman

bees, baseball, beverly, ma, culture, manners, society, writing
This entry was posted in 1, blogging, Blogroll, Boston, cautionary tales, dancing, essay, family, humor, Men, Observations, poetry, society, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Happy New Year! L Street Brownie Style

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    You crazy woman! What a totally awesome way to start the year! Have a great year! 🙂

  2. Seasweetie says:

    Awesome! Your post reminded me that I wanted to do this this year and I TOTALLY FORGOT! A little distracted lately…thanks for letting me live vicariously through you. Happy 2011!

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Liz! U spurred me on to do this, by myself, tonight!…… I about froze to death….but loved it! Thanks for the inspiration my friend! 🙂

  4. frolicking lady says:

    Amazing! Wish I could join you. Damn where is the nearest body of water? 🙂

  5. Man, I can’t even get in the water at Salisbury Beach in July! You are brave. I’m impressed.

  6. Kevin says:

    I was looking for something on line and I viewed your blog! I’m one of the pipers in the photo and we DO go in the water! We will be back at it tomorrow morning!
    Happy New Year!

  7. Pingback: Well This is Interesting. | Of bees, baseball, bicycles… and other things

Leave a Reply

