Christmas Eve

Peaceful Christmas


Peace to all who read this now. It’s what I wish for because peace allows a freedom for love and joy.
I am preparing (no, actually I should be preparing) to leave for work shortly. I’m on a cruel stretch of days on and around Christmas which didn’t give me much peace at all. My days off were before which immersed me in a roiling clot of desperate shoppers when I went to the mall and grocery store. No peace there.
I’d been wallowing in a bit of a pity party, sneering at the marketing wonks who have named each shopping day before today with something clever and adrenaline-producing enough to make consumers feel they need to get out and buy, buy, BUY!!!
But my pity party was simply self-perception; yes the malls and grocery store was mobbed, but people were smiling and pausing to let other pass. Cashiers always asked if I had much more to do or was this the last of my shopping. They smiled and groaned when I asked if they had all their shopping done yet. I must have picked the right places because I wasn’t immersed in greed and bedlam.
Then yesterday a co-worker sent me a quick e-mail: Would I like her to work half my shift today? Would I????
Some gifts are unbidden, invaluable. Merry Christmas everyone. Thank you Laura.

About EF Sweetman

bees, baseball, beverly, ma, culture, manners, society, writing
This entry was posted in 1, blogging, Blogroll, essay, family, multi-tasking, Observations, short story, society, winter, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Christmas Eve

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Merry Christmas to you and your family! I hope your shifts are uneventful and fly by quickly so you can get home to your family and your mutts 🙂 Have a great day!

  2. sweetman says:

    You to Maaaaaaahhhhhk, Merry Christmas and my wish for you is for your leg to get better! Thank you so much–mutts send regards to cats.

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Merry Christmas morning Bicycle Girrrllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll !!! 🙂

  4. chlost says:

    That is amazing. What would motivate someone to just call and offer something like that? Wow. I am impressed. Hope you had a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

