Today I Quite Possibly Found The Most Expensive Useless Gift

Really.
Now feel free to challenge me with, “A four-carat diamond belly stud worn by a large person in winter is the most expensive useless gift” and yes, you are absolutely right but I’m never going out to buy a diamond belly stud for a gift so your point is moot.
I’m talking about purchasing a gift that really wasted your hard earned cash:

Burburry Beauty--The Lip Charm with lip glow in Nude Beige


It’s lip gloss. You can attach it to a key chain. You can buy lip gloss that attached to a key ring at CVS for about $1.99 but this is Burberry so the charm and lip gloss, oh wait, make that lip glow! is $85.00.
I don’t think I’ve bought $85.00 worth of lip gloss in my entire life yet. But it’s the thought that counts and Burberry is hoping you think enough of a special someone to give them a $85.00 dab of lip goo in a dice-like key chain.
I think the recession is over.

About EF Sweetman

bees, baseball, beverly, ma, culture, manners, society, writing
This entry was posted in 1, blogging, Blogroll, cautionary tales, Fashion, humor, Observations, society and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Today I Quite Possibly Found The Most Expensive Useless Gift

  1. So…you’re saying that my wife WON’T like the diamond-encrusted belly-button stud I bought her? (frantically looking for reciept) Gah!!!!!!

  2. kluckmeister says:

    I’ll take four please! Reminds me of those Acura commercials about the holidays.

  3. Donna says:

    I recall reading somewhere that cosmetic companies like Sephora are seeing their stock and sales rise in this economic climate. Reasoning was that a $25 tube of lipstick can feel like an affordable little luxury to consumers, compared to other completely crazy-expensive indulgences (GOOP, anyone?).

    That being said…this whatchamacallit is madness! I think I have better things to spend $85 on. Like, um, groceries. šŸ™‚

  4. chlost says:

    Well, you must recognize the marketing genius of the comments here…..A diamond studded belly ring with a little box of lip gloss attached would be a huge seller. I think we should price it at $1000.00, as the diamond chip makes it so classy, and lip gloss is so valuable.
    I will share the profits with you, ‘k?

Leave a Reply

