Today I am 48

Sweetman ponders forty-eight

Today is my birthday and I am 48. It’s a great number, mathematically balanced.There’s a good probability it’s about the halfway point of my life; I can realistically see myself living to 96. I come from a long line of long-lived women on my mother’s side. I have a great-aunt that lived to 104. My father’s side is a bit longevity-challenged so I’m hoping clean living and a clean slate up to this point ends up in my favor.
I was born on a Holy Day of Obligation. All you Catholics know what that is and it was kind of a drag to have to go to church on my birthday. It’s The Feast of the Immaculate Conception which never made one shred of sense to me once I understood the meaning of the words that marked the day I was born. I’m just really glad my mother didn’t follow the well-intentioned advice to name me “Connie” in honor of my day.
I don’t despair for getting older. Obviously there’s no other alternative and most fortunately I’ve found every year is better than the last. It really is a great life.

About EF Sweetman

bees, baseball, beverly, ma, culture, manners, society, writing
This entry was posted in 1, blogging, Blogroll, family, Observations, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Today I am 48

  1. Seasweetie says:

    Happy Birthday! I’m 48 as well – though I keep forgetting and thinking I am 49. My last few years have been rough, but the future is bright, and I feel so much younger than my biological age most of the time (like about 20 – or maybe 15). I too have that long-life goal – die at 92 on my favorite island with the sound of the sea in my ears, wrapped in the arms of the people I love most. But for now, I am making the most of each moment!

    • sweetman says:

      Thank you Sweetie! I love that visual, beautiful. So glad that you’re looking on the bright side of life (Monty Python whistle here–just can’t help it!) and it’s so true, I do not feel the number at all. Thanks so much for writing.

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    A very sincere Happy Birthday my friend. You have got a great attitude towards life that we all could learn from. You’re not just a year older, you’ve added another great and exciting page to the yearbook of your life. Here’s wishing you another wonderful and happy 48 years! Have a great day!!! πŸ™‚

  3. chlost says:

    I suppose it is now past your birthday by the time I am writing this…..but Happy Birthday anyway! Take every year you can get, hon.

Leave a Reply

