This Week Wrap-up

Saturday Wrap-Up. It’s been a busy week.

My darling and beloved sister Kate has come for a brief visit. It’s always so good to see her. She’s been in California for over twenty years but I miss her more each year instead of less. She’s not picking up on my mental telepathy messages to come back to Massachusetts! Come back to Massachusetts! Gosh, when I think of how mean I was to her as a kid, I worry that I’m the reason she went to California. Now I think I have to telepathically erase her memory before working on getting her back here. Hope she doesn’t read this post–my telepathy plan will be spoiled.

My writing class finished on Thursday. It was 10 weeks of writing stories–a huge challenge but a discipline to return to writing with more purpose. It was far different from my expectations–I was certain I’d be sobbing every night on the train after having my stories shredded, crucified then fed to the classrooom goat named Earl. Instead I got honest, thorough and insightful comments. The only tears I shed on the train were due to my Doc Martins.

It feels weird to go to work in the dark and come home in the dark. I’m a reverse Chilean Miner but not as cool.

The media hype about the upcoming nuptials of William and Kate Middleton are cranking up. I hope they’ve girded their loins for the attention and scrutiny. I remember the insanity around Charles and Diana–I don’t think my aunt slept for a week (she was a total royal-phile). I’m kind of surprised that Miss Middleton accepted the ring her dead Mother-in-Law betrothed herself to Charles–doomed marriage, controversy and death in a fiery crash in a tunnel. Seems cursed to me.

Harvard officially banned vuvuzelas at the Yale-Harvard match thanks to their unbelievably annoying presence at the World Cup matches last summer. I think that’s a good thing but am certain a few people will try to sneak them in which begs one to wonder, where would they be hidden?

Now for my favorite picture of the fall.

Artie and Honey fighting over a flat squirrel which filled hours of their busy day.

About EF Sweetman

bees, baseball, beverly, ma, culture, manners, society, writing
This entry was posted in 1, blogging, Blogroll, essay, family, humor, Observations, pets, photos, society, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to This Week Wrap-up

  1. chlost says:

    Guess I’ve been in a hole as deep as the Chilean miners, as I didn’t realize until I read your post that there is an upcoming marriage of Prince William. Thanks for the news-I feel so much better to be in the know. I feel sorry for her. She has no idea, I am sure.
    And I agree about the short daylight hours (your line is awesome, by the way!) hate it. I belong at the equator.

    • sweetman says:

      I will try to dispatch frequent updates as it is my legacy–my aunt LOVED the Kennedys and the Royals. I’ll try to keep my disproval to a minimum and should take back the comment about the ring, but honestly, would you accept it after their disaster marriage and Diana’s early demise? Thanks for writing!

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    “Reverse Chilean Miner” huh? 🙂 You crack me up!! That had me spitting my Mountain De…I mean my health drink…all over the keyboard! Thanks Bicycle Girl! – Mahk

    • sweetman says:

      I hope Mountain De—I mean health drink cleans up easily…
      You do know this was written under incredible duress and that I’ve gone to incredible lengths to get all 847 of my bicycles to safe houses, don’t you????

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Hello Liz….. Pure Evil here…. How are you today?
    Hmmmm…. I feel like we have had this conversation before….. Deja Vu……

    Isn’t it a lovely day outside? How’s work? I know….I hear ya…..but you are in one of the truly great professions there is…even if you don’t hear thank you’s enough….

    How’s the family? Good….nice to hear……

    Well, I guess that’s all I got from here…. Have a wonderful Sunday…. Hopefully you do not have to work and can spend some quality time….

    BLOGGING!!!!!!!!!

    Sorry….I don’t know where that little outburst came from…. I do apologize….

    It’s hard being EVIL…..

  4. sweetman says:

    Oh hi, Idiot! Nice of you to drop in on one of your harem! May I offer you a cluster of grapes or some goat’s milk? Yes, the family is fine…wait a second! It is Deja Vu! You are Pure Evil! Now I have to think instead of wallowing my gluttony!
    Thanks a lot, Mr. Evil. How about I pahk the caaaah on your face!

  5. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Violent outbursts from members of the Harem are a violation of Harem Code 14:2-1 Paragraph 12, line 3. You are hereby placed on double secret Harem probation until such time as I can remove this caaaaah from my face. 🙂 – Lord Evil

Leave a Reply

