XTC

XTC was one of my favorite bands in the early 1980s and I think Generals and Majors was one of the first videos I saw on MTV.
I just love this song and the video.

A close second was Senses Working Overtime

Now I have to add Making Plans For Nigel

And I got my hair cut like Wendy Wonderful in Mayor of Simpleton because I didn’t just love this, I wanted to be her.

Towers of London followed Mayor of Simpleton on my Walkman

Then I added Dear God and now you know what I listened to until the tape broke. Wow, what a great flashback.

About EF Sweetman

bees, baseball, beverly, ma, culture, manners, society, writing
This entry was posted in 1, Blogroll, Music, Observations, society and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to XTC

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I honestly had not heard some of those since the early years of MTV….remember the good old days when they actually still played videos? Love the Richard Branson appearance! Did you like Oingo Boingo, Madness, or any other similar groups? – MAWKY MAHK PAHKED THE CAAAA IN THE YAD!

  2. sweetman says:

    Loved Madness, The Cure, The Clash, Gang of Four, The Pretenders, Psychedelic Furs…gosh I’m really reaching back, I wish I could find my tapes! Richard Branson was so funny (and weird) he hasn’t changed at all. Rock on Maaahk.

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Rock the casbah….rock the casbah!…. although up there you probably sing “RAWK THE KAZBAAAAH …. RAWK THE KAZBAAAAH…… 🙂 – Mawky Mawk

  4. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I bet you had a big “Flock of Seagulls” Swoosh in your hair didn’t ya? I knew it! 🙂 – Mawky Mawk…..

  5. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Hello BicycleGirl… How are you today? How was work? How is the family? Are you feeling well? Are you enjoying the crisp fall weather? brrrrrrr…….. I hope you are preparing for a lovely Thanksgiving Holiday this next week…..

    And by the way……

    START BLOGGING AGAIN OR I WILL COME UP THERE AND FLATTEN EVERY TIRE ON THE ENTIRE PEE WEE HERMAN COLLECTION OF BIKES THAT YA GOT!!!

    Have a wonderful happy day my friend

    Peace 🙂

    Mahk

  6. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    ShAHpening my “PAWKIT” knife…….

  7. sweetman says:

    All right! All right!

Leave a Reply

