Surviving my wisdom teeth

My Wisdom Teeth are out! I have two huge, gaping hole in the back of my jaw, a couple of stitches and several pieces of two giant teeth rattling around in a paper cup. For some reason I insisted on keeping my teeth after they were taken out–I think I was in a bit of shock. It was an ordeal to be certain and I can honestly say I don’t think I could go through it again unless I was knocked out.

Ree-laaaaax...this won't hurt a bit...


Don’t get me wrong, I had absolutely no pain during the procedure. I was numbed up past my ears but I could feel pressure, the dental assistant had to hold my head during the wrenching. And then there was the noise. I understand why they keep the easy listening radio blaring but the cracking sound comes from within so Making Love Out of Nothing At All by Air Supply was useless to me (it’s always been a useless song in my opinion).
Here’s the happy ending: all my wisdom teeth are now out and hopefully I’ll hang onto my remaining choppers for the rest of my life and I won’t be dumped by my dentist of 17 years for not following her advice.
I really wonder how dentists can do that part of their job? Actually I have no idea how anyone in the dental profession can do any of what they do: drilling, pulling, scraping, scaling, poking, cleaning people’s teeth. Ugh. Give me the nether region of an old person any day.

About EF Sweetman

bees, baseball, beverly, ma, culture, manners, society, writing
This entry was posted in 1, blogging, Blogroll, cautionary tales, Observations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Surviving my wisdom teeth

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I, as you know, am an idiot. When I was in the service, I started having wisdom teeth issues. I am such a major Dentaphobe Woos that I refused to let them take them out even though it would have been 100% free. I still have them to this day and they still flame up and kill me a couple times a year….. but after reading of the horrors of what you went through..even if you felt no real pain…..I am SO glad I am an idiot!! No way they ever get me into that chair!! Never!! 🙂

  2. sweetman says:

    I am sorry, while I’m not sure of my intent, it was never to drive people away from the dentist–it was more receive praise that I’m a trooper for finally getting them out, yet I’ve driven more people away from the dentist than I care to think.
    Now for the good news: it was a quick recovery, no more problems, regular dentist loves me and nice gory souvenirs to gross people out–nothing like the sound of teeth rattling in a paper cup!

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    If only you knew how much the phrase “teeth rattling in a paper cup” gets the hair on my neck standing up!!! Yikes! Please tell me you did not take them home to somehow fashion them into jewelry….. 🙂 – Mawky mawk

  4. Why’d you go through that without sedation?!?

Leave a Reply

