Reality Slaps Hard

I’m not a big fan of Dancing With The Stars, I’ve got limited time and I don’t want to get caught up in an hour of watching semi-famous people dance around…O.K. that’s the partial truth. The whole truth is if I do get caught up in DWTS, I’ll start to believe I can dance as good–no, BETTER than those posers!
It’s just the smallest leap of imagination (my imagination) that I can go from this:Dancing Fool
To this:

Behold the Beauty that is Me!


With absolutely no alcohol involved. It just might be that I don’t have an honesty mirror when I leap, twirl and caper about.
Fortunately the gods bestowed a benefaction upon my misguided and terribly ungainly self. The Honesty Slap required for those of us who truly believe we are a gift to the dance floor. A You Tube clip of England’s version of DWTS, Strictly Come Dancing .
Ann Widecombe, a British conservative politician, sometimes referred to as a “noisy busybody” but never once considered, by anyone’s stretch of imagination, a decent dancer.
I watched aghast as she took to the dance floor, partnered with professional dancer Anton Du Beke and…well…words fail me…

Don’t get me wrong, I give her a world of credit! Clearly she put her heart into her performance and was willing to be choreographed to her strengths…but this is a harsh wake-up call because the look on her face, the glimmer in her eye is exactly how I feel when I’m dancing my heart out, believing with every fiber of my being that I reign supreme on the dance floor.
Yes, I took it hard when it all came crashing down on me. The truth is sometimes very painful. I needed the extra hour of sleep last night to recover from three hours of sobbing into my pillow but I would rather know the truth than continue to entertain people ala Elaine from Seinfeld.

It's like a full body dry-heave

About EF Sweetman

bees, baseball, beverly, ma, culture, manners, society, writing
This entry was posted in 1, blogging, Blogroll, cautionary tales, dancing, humor, Music, Observations, society and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reality Slaps Hard

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I figured you would be a thumbs up high kicker like Elaine! And with no alcohol right?! You and me sister! I do the Elaine better than any other male idiot on the planet! šŸ™‚

  2. sweetman says:

    Isn’t it poetic how commonalities discover one and other, Idiot?
    My days of sniggering at dancing fools are over, I’ve been the biggest fool of all. Correct, no booze-fueled enthusiasm–egad, I shudder to think what I few drinks might reveal! I can’t say my dancing days are over, though. It’s just too much fun.

Leave a Reply

