Folding Bicycles–Cool or Not?

Is there really enough time left in my life to praise the wonderfulness of the bicycle? Sometimes I think not…hence more posts about them.

For those who think I’m indiscriminating about all bicycles, let me illuminate: I do think they’re great but there are types and styles I’d never ride due to personal preferences and a quirky desire to maintain my image. One of those never-rides was decided upon strictly on how I think it looks.
Behold! The Bike Up the Bum!

Doesn't it make you wonder where these go after they're folded?


It’s the super long seat-post that give the illusion that these bikes could be used in an endoscopic procedure.

Eeeeyowch! That's gotta hurt!


As much as I love the practicality, I just can’t get around that fixed notion…

His-n-Hers colonoscopy-on-the-go!


Here are some neat designs (just to get those visuals out of your heads). These are really cool folding bikes. You know, this is the kind of future I dreamed of as a kid…

I'd definitely ride this one without shame


I don't think you'd see me on this but I do love it


The '90s Executive scooter get folding-bicycle cooler


Either of the following two models are ideal if you spent most of your time travelling for business or pleasure–they are carry-on sized and really practical. Hmmm, I’m just wondering if really practical equals really expensive?

Easily fits in the overhead compartment--disembark and off you go!


Wow! I'd never ride it but you've got to admit it's cool!


Whoa, practicality, looks and a bicycle. My life is now complete!

Charge your computer as you tool around the city.


Do you have to ride and lock it in a crime-ridden area? Never fear, just bend your bike around a sturdy lamp-post and let the rest of your day be care free!

Just try to steal the bendy-bike, you evil bike thieves! Ha ha ha ha ha ha haaaaaaaaaa!


My favorite folding bike? You know it’s got to be simple, cool and not look like a medical instrument for exploring the nether regions:

This is the folding bike you'd see me on.


Ending with my favorite image of a folding bike–I know it’s one with a long seat post, but I still like this picture:

Really great folding bike picture.


Now, to answer the question in the header: Folding Bicycles–Wicked Cool.

About EF Sweetman

bees, baseball, beverly, ma, culture, manners, society, writing
This entry was posted in 1, bicycling, blogging, Blogroll, essay, Observations, photos, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Folding Bicycles–Cool or Not?

  1. redriverpak says:

    My wife has long accused me of having a lot of things stuck up my “bum”…..but thankfully, a bike is not one of them! πŸ™‚

  2. redriverpak says:

    I checked. I got a lot of stuff rattling around up in there…..but nothing with wheels…. πŸ™‚

  3. thiszine says:

    I live in DC where lots of commuters own folding bicycles. These contraptions can cause laughter because they are a bit… well, funny, but let’s face it – a lot more eco-friendly than a car, which, aesthetics aside, makes them wicked cool!

    For the record, I do not own a folding bicycles. I own a $70 bicycle from Target because my two previous high-dollar bikes were stolen. Punks.

    • sweetman says:

      I am now suffering from hopeless folding bicycle love after reading BICYCLE DIARIES! They are perfect for getting around cities–you can take them on the train anytime (Boston limits times for full-sized bikes) and you can bring them inside for safe-keeping. I’ve had 2 bikes stolen too! Yeah, those punks!!!

Leave a Reply

