What have we created? Part I

There is no doubt I love the internet and social networking. I’m on it practically every day, way more than I profess to be on it. I thinks it’s an incredible vehicle of communication. The upside is huge and it’s a lot of fun. I don’t feel I need to wax poetic about how much it’s changed our lives because it’s obvious, especially if you’re reading this.
Now I segue into the downside, which is legion. It’s really an unknown forum and it seems we learn the pitfalls as we go along: too much information, no control of what you put out after you post it, predators, time-consuming, rude behavior, the loss of language, the loss of proper spelling and grammar, the loss of human contact over electronic devices, blah, blah, blah. Add what ever you want.
For me, the greatest pitfall of what has become what we do is what it’s doing to our kids. It’s creating a way of life for them that most of us have no prior experience to guide them. It’s an evolution at light speed with children and the benefits have yet to outshine the penalties in my eyes.
Again, too much information, no control of what you put out after you post it, predators, time-consuming, rude behavior, the loss of language, the loss of proper spelling and grammar, the loss of human contact over electronic devices, blah, blah, blah…. If you don’t have kids, who cares, right? If you do have kids, these downsides are influencing mightily and they are constant, pervasive and are much more charismatic than you are as a parent.
All right, I admit it, I’m living it right now with a pre-teen son who doesn’t have a cell phone or a profile on facebook (that I know of) so I think he’s way more insulated than many of his peers yet it’s still possible for him to have information floating around that is up for any type of comment or observation.

About EF Sweetman

bees, baseball, beverly, ma, culture, manners, society, writing
This entry was posted in 1, Blogroll, cautionary tales, essay, Observations, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What have we created? Part I

  1. nicole says:

    i agree whole-heartedly. and (most) kids these days are very live-or-die in love with the need to be connected. your son, from what i know, is different from the majority… as a growing young man, he has better things to do. that’s not to say that we slaves to technology are in a worse time than him, it just means that the lack of face-to-face communication is not for him. and i think about this very thing every time hayden sees me plop down in front of my laptop or pull out my phone… i don’t want hayden to think that technology is the one and only way. but it is tough at times because the news we want to read is a click away. so is learning with online classes. and everything has a website.

  2. sweetman says:

    Thanks Nicole.
    It’s awful to discover how it consumes them and how crushing the whole cyberbullying aspect is. I feel like we’re trying to pull back a rocket that’s in the middle to blasting off with a piece of dental floss.
    That’s great that you’re mindful of what you’re doing–I don’t see that with other people, in fact, I think so many babies and toddlers must think their parents grow a cell phone out of their heads the way one grows hair!
    I appreciate your insight

  3. Pingback: What Have We Created? The entire essay series « Sweetman's writing

Leave a Reply

