Not as busy as I think I am

Hectic day, yesterday although I wasn’t as inconvenienced nor as cold as those who lost heat and power. I lost the internest for nearly twenty four hours.
I was writing a story for a contest, a super short story which I enjoy writing but they’re a bit of work to pare down and I let this one slide until the deadline. Which was yesterday. With no internet.
Worse things could happen, like I said, I wasn’t cold, just unconnected.
I finished the story yesterday, rather quickly because I wasn’t constantly checking my social network sites (which I claim I don’t like to be on very often–that’s a big fat lie!).
I’m hooked on facebook and twitter and my gmail. Yesterday proved that! I finished my story in about 2 hours, a story I was grinding out for a week after dumping another story I was grinding out for two weeks. The reality is I was writing a couple of sentences, then checking for status updates. What a waste of time!
This is not my usual work ethic when wriitng. The story was not really my own and it’s was kind of a difficult topic for me. Usually I’m more into my writing and the social networks are a distraction.
A pretty good wake-up for me, though. It’s too easy to get sucked in and waste hours, even though I don’t play farmville or mafia wars.
It makes me wonder, what are we doing with our time? We’re not as busy as we think we are.

About EF Sweetman

bees, baseball, beverly, ma, culture, manners, society, writing
This entry was posted in 1, Blogroll, cautionary tales, essay, multi-tasking, Observations, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

